While reading: Unnaturally Delicious

Most of the time when I’m reading non-fiction, I come across ideas that I find interesting, I highlight them or write them down then tell myself I should definitely bring this up in the book review I am going to write when I’m finished. Long story short, I never bring myself to write reviews of non-fiction. Therefore, those passages that caught my attention remain highlighted and forgotten about to the end of days. 

So in order to fight this bad habit of mine, I thought I could write a little something about it even though I haven’t finished reading yet. I guess it’s okay? 

This book is named Unnaturally Delicious and it wasn’t a random pick. As a process food student, I have always kept my hobby of reading separated from my studies, thus I have never read something related to the mentioned field (except cookbooks if they count). However, since this book seemed interesting and since they say you cannot grow unless you step out of your comfort zone, I have decided to give it a try. I am still in the first half and so far I am enjoying my reading. 

The book discusses how technology is helping secure food for the fast growing population: biotechnology, 3D food printers, synthetic biology, etc..  

It was all fun and games until I was hit by the part talking about robot cook, and I don’t mean here robot kneading dough or mixers, I mean actual robots that can replicate the chef’s recipes and make you the perfect version of your favorite dish that they only make at that favorite restaurant of yours. Nice ? Terrifying ? 

It is understandable that the book author is pro technology when it comes to the food industry. I can see how it tries to convince the reader that technology is saving us from starving to death and not actually killing us slowly. However, this robot cook part had almost made me stop reading. 

A meal prepared by a robot can never replace or be better than food made by a human with lots of love. Are we even going to talk about the art of cooking? The passion? The feelings?   The man conceiving this robot states that “if the robot works correctly, determining whether the dish was made by human hands or machine hands would be impossible. The outcomes are identical.” As someone who enjoys spending time in the kitchen every now and then, I found this statement rather humiliating and I dare say empty-headed, imagine what it can do to a professional cook.

I am not against technology in any aspect of human life. I am well aware that we need it and that we don’t have another way, and even if we do, it would be a tough one. The thing that I detest is to be in denial of the inconvenients it brings us, especially when it comes to the food industry. Nothing can or will change my point of view about this, not even finishing this book. Nothing can convince me that a robot can make food that is equally delicious to the one humans cook.

The chapter of robot cook comes to an end with an interesting phrase: “Here’s to imagining a day when a robot can not only cook but will do the dishes”. I hope if this day arrives, I’d be living in a cottage in the woods.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started